Select Page

This month, the Coalition for National Trauma Research (CNTR) announced the formation of its Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Committee to ensure that issues related to EDI are addressed both within CNTR and within the trauma research community as a whole. The EDI Committee will advise the CNTR Board of Directors and Scientific Advisory Council to ensure that all aspects of EDI are considered in the development of research proposals and grant applications. Furthermore, the committee will develop a mentorship program for under-represented minority investigators interested in clinical trauma research.

The CNTR board selected representatives from each of the CNTR Core Member organizations to serve three-year terms. These representatives will also serve as liaisons to the EDI groups within the core organizations. Congratulations to our new EDI Committee members:

Michaela Alane West, MD, PhD, FACS, FCCM, is Trauma Research Chair/Trauma, Acute, Critical Care Surgeon at North Memorial Health Care in Robbinsdale, MN and Adjunct Professor of Surgery at the University of Minnesota. Dr. West represents the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma (AAST).

Benjamin Levi, MD, Director of the Center for Organogenesis and Trauma and Associate Professor in Surgery, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, represents the American Burn Association (ABA).

Ali Salim, MD, MA, FACS, is serving on behalf of the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma (ACSCOT). Dr. Salim is Associate Chair of Surgical Critical Care, Brigham & Women’s Hospital and Associate Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical Center.

Vanessa Ho, MD, MPH, represents the Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma (EAST). She is an attending physician at MetroHealth Medical Center in Cleveland, OH, and Associate Professor of Surgery and Assistant Professor of Population and Quantitative Health Sciences at Case Western Reserve University.

Alicia Mangram, MD, FACS, represents the Western Trauma Association (WTA). Dr. Mangram is Senior Medical Director of Trauma/Acute Care Surgery – Acute Care Surgical Specialists, Medical Director of Surgical Intensive Care Unit and Program Director of General Surgery Residency at HonorHealth John C. Lincoln Medical Center & Deer Valley Medical Center in Phoenix, AZ.