Select Page

Scientific Advisory Committee

The SAC is responsible for:

  • Implementation of the National Trauma Research Action Plan (NTRAP)
  • Seeking opportunities for funding
  • Developing and prioritizing research proposals
  • Issuing and communicating Requests for Proposals to a national audience
  • Review of proposals and recommendation of contracts to be awarded
  • Developing mentorship opportunities for junior clinical investigators
Rosemary Kozar, MD, PhD, FACS [Chair] CNTR
Sam Arbabi, MD, FACS ACS-COT
Zara Cooper, MD, FACS ACS-COT
Todd Costantini, MD, FACS AAST
Elliott Haut, MD, PhD, FACS EAST
Bellal Joseph, MD, FACS WTA
Ajai Malhotra, MD, FACS AAST
Todd McKinley, MD OTA
Lauren Moffatt, PhD ABA
Vicki Moran, PhD, RN STN
Anna Newcomb, PhD ATS
Tina Palmieri, MD, FACS ABA
Mayur Patel, MD, MPH, FACS ACS-COT
Michelle Price, PhD CNTR
Julie Rizzo, MD MHSSPACS
Carl Schulman, MD, FACS ABA
Jason Smith, MD, MBA, FACS EAST
Ben Zarzaur, MD, MPH, FACS EAST


It takes more than a ‘village’ to do high quality research to improve outcomes following injury. The support that CNTR provides to investigators allows for a collaboration between all stakeholders, including patients and their caregivers, that maximizes the ability to conduct meaningful research and reach conclusions that will both save lives and improve the quality of those lives.

Deb Stein, MD

President, 2022, Eastern Association for the Surgery of Trauma